CWA Staff Union Membership Meeting July 8, 2023

Meeting starts around 4:48 pm.

President Jordan opens the meeting, which is conducted in person as well as via Zoom. Hetty Scofield, CWA Staff Retiree is brought in as a facilitator to help make meeting go smoothly and make sure everyone's voice is heard.

Review minutes of March 18th membership meeting. Kara Hutchason makes motion to accept the minutes. Richard Hatch seconds. Motion carries.

S/T Spaulding reviews the financial reports. One member question on the mobilization/apparel spending, relating to the backpacks ordered. Elaine Harris makes a motion to approve the financial reports. Luis Benitez seconds the motion. Motion carries.

2023 Staff Union Nominations

All nominations conducted by Ron Gay, Staff Union Election Committee Chair.

President: Mike Schulte: Nominated by Charles Daniels, Seconded by Justin Hawkins. Motion to elect via acclimation by Kevin Kimber, Seconded by Tonya Hodges. Unanimously carries.

Vice-President: Matt Clark: Nominated by Rob Macherone, Seconded by Sean Diglaw. Tony Shaffer: Nominated by Ruth Marriott, Seconded by Kevin Kimber.

Chair Gay closes nominations for Vice-President.

Secretary-Treasurer: Erin Spaulding: Nominated by Tonya Hodges, seconded by Luis Benitez-Burgos. Motion to elect via acclimation by John Petrini, Seconded by Jane Phillips. Unanimously carries.

At-Large SIF/Growth Fund Representative: Akeyia Johnson. Nominated by Tomeka Cooley Pettus. Motion to elect via acclimation by Jana Smith-Carr, Seconded by Genesis Hunt. Unanimously carries.

D1 Executive Board: Mary Clinton nominated by Luis Benitez Burgos. Seconded by Tonya Hodges. Motion to elect via acclimation by Nick Hanlon, Seconded by Kristen Affirme. Unanimously carries.

D2/13 Executive Board: John Petrini nominated by Shannon Fink. Seconded by Richard Hatch. Motion to elect via acclimation by Elaine Harris, Seconded by Lisa Fazzini. Unanimously carries.

D3 Executive Board: Kevin Kimber nominated by Isa Shabazz. Seconded by Jar'la Evans.

Motion to elect via acclimation by Tony Shaffer, Seconded by Richard Hatch. Unanimously carries.

D4 Executive Board: Jane Phillips nominated by Clinton Rogers. Seconded by Monica Hogan. Motion to elect via acclimation by Clinton Rogers, Seconded by Mike Schulte. Unanimously carries.

D6 Executive Board: Sherron Molina nominated by Sara Walling. Seconded by Billy Moffett. Motion to elect via acclimation by Kevin Kimber, Seconded by Richard Hatch. Unanimously carries.

D7 Executive Board: Jana Smith-Carr nominated by Ted Hooker. Seconded by Jeff Lacher. Motion to elect via acclimation by Elaine Harris, Seconded by Mike Schulte. Unanimously carries.

D9 Executive Board: Robert Longer nominated by Adrian Regalado. Seconded by Cherie Brokaw. Motion to elect via acclimation by Jane Phillips, Seconded by Tony Shaffer. Unanimously carries.

HQ Executive Board: Julian Brunner nominated by Joseph McCue. Seconded by Chloe Tamula. Motion to elect via acclimation by John Petrini, Seconded by Luis Benitez-Burgos. Unanimously carries.

IUE Executive Board – Three At-Large Seats

Danny Sallie nominated by Rob Macherone. Seconded by Chuck Kaiser. Richard Shorter nominated by Chuck Kaiser. Seconded by Joe Nguyen. Tomeka Colley-Pettus nominated by Etana Jacobi. Seconded by Eric Dryburgh. Amber Brooks nominated by Kendall Bell. Seconded by Joe Nguyen Orvin Caraballo nominated by Tomeka Cooley Pettus. Seconded by Genesis Hunt.

Chair Gay states that the election will be conducted via mail ballots for the positions of Vice-President and the three At-Large IUE seats.

New Business

D7 Member Jeff Lacher stands up to propose a resolution as follows:

RESOLUTION CALLING ON CWA STAFF UNION (CSU) LEADERSHIP TO INCLUDE A STAFF UNION DELEGATE TO WORK WITH CSU LEADERSHIP, OTHER CWA STAFF UNIONS, & CWA LEADERSHIP ON STRENGTHENING CWA'S MUTUAL RESPECT POLICY & CREATING A PRACTICED CULTURE OF MUTUAL RESPECT

WHEREAS, the findings in the EMRC report sparked a much larger conversation within

CSU about a lack of mutual respect within CWA, with many members expressing personal experiences of discrimination, harassment, and bullying in the workplace;

WHEREAS, the current mutual respect policy, process for reporting violations, and enforcement of said policy have not kept CSU members safe from discrimination, harassment, and bullying in the workplace nor have they encouraged reporting;

WHEREAS, a policy on paper without strong enforcement mechanisms and a clear demonstrated commitment from leadership and members will make culture change incredibly difficult to achieve;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED:

THAT the CSU Leadership include an additional staff union delegate to specifically work alongside them, other CWA staff unions, and CWA Leadership to strengthen CWA's Mutual Respect Policy and build a stronger culture within CWA of practicing mutual respect;

THAT such a policy must include strong reporting and enforcement procedures that guarantee CSU members protection without fear of reprisal or retaliation, no matter who has violated the policy or what position that individual serves within the union;

THAT the power of the policy goes beyond its words, and must be accompanied by strong implementation mechanisms that facilitate a larger cultural shift within our organization;

AND THAT CSU Leadership and the staff union delegate will regularly report to the larger membership on progress made and will actively solicit ideas and feedback from the membership in a way that honors the democratic nature of our organization;

RESOLVED:

That CSU Leadership will wholeheartedly adopt this proposal to include a staff union delegate to work with CSU leadership, other CWA staff unions, & CWA leadership on strengthening CWA's MUTUAL RESPECT POLICY and thus creating a practiced culture of mutual respect.

RESOLVED:

That CSU membership nominate and select the delegate right now.

Eric Dryburgh makes motion that one person in addition to staff union leadership be selected by the membership in line with Jeff Lacher's resolution.. Victor Serrano seconds the motion. Much discussion on the motion.

President Jordan states the original motion would be out of order. Discussion on modifying the motion.

Jeff Lacher modifies his motion to change the last resolved as follows:

Be it further resolved: That CSU offer recommendations to appoint someone to serve with the executive board.

Much discussion on amended resolution, for and against. Mike Garry with a point of order that the original motion. VP Schulte clarifies that the original motion is now a recommendation from the membership so it is not out of order.

Luis Benitez Burgos. Motion is to table this resolution to our next membership meeting so everyone can have the opportunity to participate adequately. Tonya seconds the motion. Discussion the motion. The motion fails.

Motion to end debate and call the question carries.

Voting in support of Jeff Lacher's resolution as modified. The motion carries.

Jane Phillips makes a motion to adjourn. Ron Gay seconds the motion. Adjournment at 7:09pm.